Family Room Transformation

There was one room in my house that I dreaded painting, because it was just so much surface area.  That would be my family room, it was humongous.  It was the size of the three bedrooms plus the hall combine, also with built-ins, deep windows, and lots and lots of trim.  I started this project shortly after finding out that I was pregnant (getting no VOC paint, paint from Lowes) and did not finish until almost a year and a half later.  In the end the process was significantly accelerated due to the the home sale.   I really did have a lot more intricate plan for this room, but since I had to finish and in a staging way, it got done really fast!  Even with all that, after everything I really did like the result.

Here is a before picture (again sorry for the poor quality before pictures, note to self in new house take good before pictures):

and here is the two year later after:

I painted the built-ins, and Hubs installed a TV above the fireplace.  (Don’t worry about the heat, we have never used the fireplace)  Also we had gotten new carpets, almost right after we moved in.  I think the previous owner had a couple of dogs and it had a yucky doggie smell.  I really had wanted to put some dark bamboo blinds in the room, but in the time, money crunch we had to just go with standard aluminum white blinds.  I painted this focal wall with a chocolate brown and the rest of the walls I used the same neutral color that I had used in the kitchen, since one of the walls is continuous.

here is another before from the other direction:

And the after:

I really like the look of the bookshelves and it wasn’t even my idea.  Hubs thought of it as a way to use the awkward space behind the sectional.  The bookshelves are from target and we paid $87 a piece for them, actually a Christmas present from my parents.  (I have good ideas for these in our new house.)  I am not really a fan of the matchy, matchy pillows on the couch matching my ‘fun chair’ but hubs was in a decorating mood and ordered them on the internet.

Here is a picture of the bar area.  You can see where my 9 squares project went.  Sorry about the dog crate in the background, I’m so used to seeing it I forgot to take it out. My original plane was to paint the bar and update the countertop, but there was no time, and the good thing is that you cannot see the bar when you walk down the stairs.

Overall I am soo happy that I finally finished, but a little sad that I did not do it sooner, we only enjoyed the finished project for about a week.  Although thanks to all my blog reading I have finally perfected the painted transition between two colors. Yahhhh!

Has anyone else been forced to finish projects faster due to selling a house?

TDC Before and After
Leave a Reply

